I had to do a little bit of digging to figure this one out, because the word ‘maybe’ is very vague and any number of characters could have said the word.

Maybe by definition:

adverb

1. perhaps; possibly.

“maybe I won’t go back”

synonyms: perhaps, possibly, conceivably, it could be (that), it is possible (that), for all one knows; More

noun

1. A mere possibility or probability.

“no ifs, buts, or maybes”

The first definition came up blank still. But (you may still think I’m clutching at straws and maybe I am) the second somehow took me to Pirates of the Caribbean: At Worlds End.

Jack Sparrow realises how to get out of Davy Jones’ locker when he says “…not sun set, sun down… And rise! Up!” 

I can’t seem to find the quote he says after this, but he gets the crew to start rocking the boat on the POSSIBILITY that his hunch is right, and begins on one of his rambles explaining to them with lots of ‘maybe’ and ‘possibly’ and double negatives stuck in there. 


https://dailypost.wordpress.com/2016/08/10/maybe/

