I had a day of experimentation this week, after trawling the internet for ways to reduce the sugar in cupcakes, cakes and other baked goods, I decided to see what happens when you don’t put sugar in.

So to start with I made a basic cupcake mix minus the sugar.

Then split the mixture into 3 bowls and add flavourings to them. One I added cocoa powder and orange rind, one I added raspberries, and the 3rd I added dates and Brazil nuts. 

Baked them as usual cupcakes. But I pulled them out and well they had an oily liquid bubbling on top of them when I pulled them out. Hmm strange.

I tried them. Yeah, they tasted oily too.

But I’ve made so many and I hate waste! What can I do with 24 cupcakes that don’t quite taste right?!

Cheesecake! 

I began by blitzing 8 cupcakes in the food processor, and mixed this with a tablespoon of honey and 75g of melted butter, I pressed it into a springform cake tin to make the base.

Place in a preheated oven at 180 degrees for 10 minutes.

While the base cools I made the super easy cheese topping. In a mixing bowl put the mascarpone cheese, hazelnut spread and cocoa and mix together. 


I used an electric mixer however a spoon or hand mixer will also work.

Either buy chopped hazelnuts or chop them yourself. I opted for the latter. In my trusty food processor.


I put 3 tablespoons of the chopped nuts into the cheese and chocolate mix for a bit of texture. And the rest is for decoration.

Once the base is cool spread the cheese mix on top of the base.


Sprinkle the remaining nuts on top of the cheese layer.


Now it needs refrigerating for at least 6 hrs. I unfortunately have an impatient husband, who wanted to eat it anyway before it was completely set. So this was the final result, and I’m pretty pleased with it. 


And guess what? It tasted great! I’m not normally a fan of cheesecake but knowing Aaron does like it I thought I’d give it a go. Even I can finish a piece and I usually find it too sickly! 

Definitely the right thing to do with left over cake or cake that didn’t quite go right šŸ˜€ 

